The portal for lifelong-learning
You are here: Home > Lexique

European qualification framework for lifelong learning (EQF)

Reference tool for describing and comparing qualification levels in qualifications systems developed at national, international or sectoral levels.

Comment: the EQFʼs main components are a set of eight reference levels described in terms of learning outcomes (combination of
knowledge, skills and/or competences) and mechanisms and principles for voluntary cooperation. The eight levels cover the entire
span of qualifications from those recognising basic knowledge, skills and competences to those awarded at the highest level of acAdemic and professional and vocational education and training. EQF is a translation device for qualification systems.

Source: Cedefop (2014) "Terminology of European education and training policy: A selection of 130 key terms"


Print Expand/Collapse all
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Send to a friend
Back to Blog
Jan Feb Mar Apr
May Jun Jul Aug
Sep Oct Nov Dec
Did you find this helpful? Your opinion helps us to improve this website. Please send your comments to  webmaster. Yes Somewhat No uses cookies

By using this site, you accept the use of cookies necessary for navigation and for performing statistics.

You can change your cookies settings at any time in your browser.

OK Learn more about